Cohen Cooke, winner of the best all round award in the Pre-Novice category, stands with coach Elijah Wicks. Missing are hardest worker Connor Wilkinson and most sportsmanlike winner Darryl Haring.

Minor Hockey hosts awards banquet

Exceptional efforts recognized by Clearwater and District Minor Hockey Association

Clearwater and District Minor Hockey Association held its annual awards banquet on Thursday evening, April 5 in the Sportsplex curling rink.

“We started having these banquets several years ago to recognize the kids and the teams that have had success,” said Ole Kjenstad, CDMHA president. “We also wanted to thank the volunteers who made the season work.”

Kjenstad mentioned everyone’s appreciation to the Sportsplex staff for the work done over the season.

READ MORE: Minor Hockey hands out awards (April 12, 2014)

He noted that it is not just Clearwater youngsters who benefit from the local hockey program.

This season, players came to participate from Valemount, 100 Mile House and Barriere.

The association president explained the three awards given out to each team:

1. Best all round – to the player who exhibits a good work ethic, is a good teammate, is a player the coaches and other players count on. Is a leader on and off the ice. Usually a player that the team dynamic changes if they are not playing.

2. Hardest worker – would be the player that never quits in games. Shows up to every practice, and works to get better. Does not have to be asked to give their best effort.

3. Most sportsmanlike – a player who exhibits qualities especially esteemed in those who engage in sports, such as fairness, courtesy, good temper, etc. This player is always good to the people around him or her.

The winners in each team division were:

• Pre-Novice: best all round, Cohen Cooke; hardest worker, Connor Wilkinson; sportsmanlike, Darryl Haring.

• Novice: best all round, Chase Smith; hardest worker, Sophie Collins; sportsmanlike, Bailey Rotzetter.

• Atoms: best all round, Tyler MacDonald; hardest worker, Lochlan Mattenley; sportsmanlike, Ryder McGravey.

• Peewee: best all round, Devin Holland; hardest worker, Soren Coates; sportsmanlike, Korie McGill.

Midget Rec: best all round, Erik Giesbrecht; hardest worker, Solamyn Barstow; sportsmanlike, Cassidy Tucker.

• Midget Rep: best all round, Jaxon Kjenstad; hardest worker, Dorian McGill; sportsmanlike, Gibson Nash.

• Junior referee, Devin Green; senior referee, Kelvin Arndt.

• Coach of the Year, Elijah Wicks.

• Volunteer award, Tera Carter and Kirstin MacDonald. Lisa Rhodes was also mentioned for all the extra work she does for minor hockey.

Graduating players recognized were: Keltie Arndt, 2006-2018, playing here since Pre-Novice; Gibson Nash, 2007-2018, started hockey in McBride then joined us in 2010; Mason Wadlegger, 2005-2018, been playing here since Pre-Novice; Jaxon Kjenstad, 2005-2018, been playing here since Pre-Novice; Kurt Wandler, 2005-2018, started playing in Houston, in 2015 he played his first year of Midgets here, was in 100 Mile for a year, and then returned to Clearwater for his last year of Midgets.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter


Novice division award winners (l-r) most sportsmanlike Bailey Rotzetter, hardest worker Sophie Collins, and best all round Chace Smith stand with coach Elijah Wicks.

Award winners in the Atoms division were (front, l-r) best all round Tyler MacDonald, most sportsmanlike Ryder McGravey, and hardest worker Lochlan Mattenley. Standing behind is coach Scott MacDonald.

From the Peewee team are (back, l-r) coaches Ken Irvine, Jamie Fischer and Barb Coates; (front, l-r) best all round Devin Holland, most sportsmanlike Korie McGill, and hardest worker Soren Coates.

Award winners in the Midget House category were (l-r) most sportsmanlike Cassidy Tucker, best all round Erik Giesbrecht; and hardest worker Solamyn Barstow.

Representing the Midget Rep team were (back, l-r) coaches Ole Kjenstad, Seppi Wadlegger and Grant Simpson, manager Lisa Rhodes, (front, l-r) coach Jay Meyer, best all round Jaxon Kjenstad, hardest worker Dorian McGill, and most sportsmanlike Gibson Nash.

Volunteers of the Year were Kirsten MacDonald (l) and Tera Carter.

Junior referee of the year award went to Devin Green. Kelvin Arndt (not pictured) was named senior referee of the year.

Ole Kjenstad (l), president of Clearwater and District Minor Hockey, presents the coach of the year award to Elijah Wicks. “He focussed on the kids,” Kjenstad said, adding that Wicks coached both the Pre-Novice and the Novice team this past season.

Just Posted

It’s the last day to vote in B.C.’s referendum on electoral reform

Ballots must now be dropped off in person to meet the deadline of 4:30 p.m.

Barriere family airlifted to Vancouver due to carbon monoxide exposure

All members were in stable condition before being transported

Clearwater Secondary School student receives large entrance bursary at TRU

Allyson Watson graduated from CSS in June and started studying heavy-duty mechanics in September

Mayan Madness dinner theatre a success

Along with raising funds to help the Pokomchi, the event also helped bring community together

Editor, The Times:

Voting system needs to be replaced

VIDEO: This B.C. school leads country in vaccine donations to UNICEF

Federally funded Kids Boost Immunity uses quizzes to earn vaccinations

Boeser scores 3, Pettersson has 5 points as Canucks hammer Blues

Vancouver picks up impressive 6-1 win in St. Louis

B.C. police stop drunk driver who offered up burger instead of ID

Roadblock checks over the weekend found at least two other impaired drivers

In Canada, the term ‘nationalism’ doesn’t seem to have a bad rap. Here’s why

Data suggest that Canadians don’t see the concept of nationalism the way people do in the United States

Small quake recorded west of Vancouver Island

No injuries or tsunami warning after 5.4 rumble felt some 400 kilometres from Victoria

B.C. suspends Chinese portion of Asian forestry trade mission due to Huawei arrest

Huawei’s chief financial officer Meng Wanzhou was detained at the request of U.S. in Vancouver

Canadians spent $1.7 billion dollars online in December 2017

Online retail sales accounted for 3.4 per cent of total retail sales

2-year investigations nets $900,000 in refunds for payday loan customers

Consumer Protection BC says selling practices were ‘aggressive and deceptive’

China: Canada’s detention of Huawei exec ‘vile in nature’

Huawei is the biggest global supplier of network gear for phone and internet company

Most Read