Elections coming to three North Thompson electoral areas

Highlights from the Thompson-Nicola Regional District board of directors’ meeting of Oct. 23

The following are highlights from the Thompson-Nicola Regional District board of directors’ meeting of Oct. 23:

Six electoral areas to require an election

Nominations for the office of director for each of the 10 TNRD electoral areas closed at 4 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 10.

In six of the TNRD’s electoral areas (including Area B (Thompson Headwaters), Area A (Wells Gray Country) and Area O (Lower North Thompson), two candidates were nominated and elections will be held in those areas on Nov. 15.

Only one candidate was nominated in each of the remaining four electoral areas and those candidates have been declared elected by acclamation.

Gas Tax funds assist with development of septage receiving facility in the North Thompson

Up to $20,000 of federal Gas Tax – Community Works Fund revenue allocated to Electoral Area O (Lower North Thompson) was approved to assist in funding the development of a septage receiving facility in Barriere, which will serve the North Thompson Valley.

Presentation from Smoke Free Coalition

Mr. Jeff Conners provided a presentation on Smoke Free Parks, an initiative spearheaded by the Smoke Free Coalition, which is made up of Canadian Cancer Society and Interior Health Authority.

The Smoke Free Coalition is requesting that local governments implement a bylaw that prohibits smoking in parks owned and operated by local governments to reduce cancer risk from second-hand smoke.

Tailings storage at New Gold Mine

Scott Davidson, environment and social responsibility manager at the New Afton Mine, and Matt Davis, project engineer, provided a presentation about the New Afton tailings facility.

They highlighted how New Gold Inc. has closely followed the tailings-storage regulations established by the province and continues to have a strict schedule for monitoring and reporting.

OCP for Cherry Creek and Savona adopted

Cherry Creek–Savona Official Community Plan Bylaw No. 2472 was adopted. Bylaw 2472 has now replaced Bylaw 1447 as the new OCP for the Kamloops Lake area, including the unincorporated communities of Cherry Creek, Tobiano and Savona.

This OCP captures residents’ collective goals, the communities’ vision for the future, and timely policies to implement the plan’s renewed long-range objectives.

Westwold Legion to receive energy conserving upgrades

The Westwold Legion Hall will receive upgrades to the doors, roof and insulation thanks to $40,000 of federal Gas Tax – Community Works Fund component revenues allocated to Electoral Area “L” (Grasslands).

Village of Clinton to receive HVAC system upgrade

The Village of Clinton office will receive upgrades to the HVAC system thanks to $15,000 from the federal Gas Tax Revenues – Community Works Fund component allocated to Electoral Area “E” (Bonaparte Plateau).