Abbygale Elliot doesn’t let a cast on her leg prevent her from receiving the Lori Pelton Memorial award during the year-end assembly at Raft River Elementary on Thursday morning. The award goes to the student or students on grades 4 - 7 who show the greatest effort. Other recipients this year were Joey Pelton and Lily Dulaba.

SLIDESHOW: Raft River Elementary recognizes student achievements

A wide variety of students were recognized during Raft River Elementary School’s year-end assembly

A wide variety of students were recognized during Raft River Elementary School’s year-end assembly on Thursday morning, June 29.

The assembly opened with a presentation by string musicians taught by Sandy Crane.

A Grade 7 and Kindergarten entrance saw youngsters who will enter Grade 1 next September being escorted into the gymnasium by Grade 7 students who will be going to secondary school in the fall.

Participants in a number of programs were recognized, including volleyball, basketball, flag football, track and field, Heritage Fair, young artists, young authors, Battle of the Books, Clearwater Fire Department’s poster contest, and the RCMP Bike Rodeo.

School staff leaving were recognized. These included Mr. McKenna, Miss Weddell, Mrs. MacDougall, Mrs. McGill, Mrs. Biagioni, Ms. Chapman and Mrs. Thompson.

New staff for Raft River include Mrs. Bradstock, Mr. Shymkiw, and Mrs. Johnson. Lori Bradstock, who was formerly the vice-principal at Raft, is returning to take Shaun McKenna’s place as principal.

Parents Advisory Council members recognized included chair Kirstin MacDonald, vice-chair Eleanor Collins, treasurer Tara Stelter, secretary Heather Adamson, and members Andrea Lamond, Sam Braaten, Kerry Milner Cairns, Lucy Taylor and Cherie Yurkiw.

The school awards given out included:

Citizenship – presenter: Mrs. Whitney; recipients: Vienna Wadlegger, Hannah MacDonald, Regan Yurkiw.

Service – presenter: Ms. McQuarrie; recipients: Rose Thon, Laci Hancock, Jaime Ball, Vienna Wadlegger, Braxton Hall, Dustin Hurst, Hannah MacDonald, Cassidy Tucker, Claire Arduini, Parker Collins, Sebastian Evans.

Sportsmanship – presenter: Mrs. Weatherall; recipients: Harris Thomas, Braxton Hall, Hannah MacDonald.

Top Athletes – presenter: Hilary Weddell; recipients: Braxton Hall, Parker Collins, Claire Arduini, Cassidy Tucker, Vienna Wadlegger.

Top Academic Students: – presenter: Natasha Holowaychuk, Lonette Tobin-Graffunder, Ashley MacDougall; recipients: Vienna Wadlegger, Hanna MacDonald, Kristen Regier, Braxton Hall, Katelynne Christensen.

Fine Arts – presenter: Liz Shook; recipients: Parker Collins, Braxton Hall, Isabella Graffunder, Dustin Hurst, Robyn Criss, Ember Simms-Godwin.

Lori Pelton Award – presenter: Dianne Bishop; recipients: Joey Pelton, Abbygale Elliot, Lily Dulaba.

Justin Frye Award – presenter: Doreen Allan; recipients: Reid Muddiman.

Courtney Buck Sunshine Award – presenter: Nicole Rushton; recipients: Martha Taylor, Hailey Irvine.

Principals Award – presenter: Shaun McKenna; recipients: Braydon Busse, Sebastian Evans, Ember Simms-Godwin.

Just Posted

PHOTO: YCS gives clock to mark 10th anniversary

District of Clearwater receives large clock from Yellowhead Community Services

Midget Reps beat Chase

Clearwater Midget Rep Ice Hawks defeated Chase 8-2 in a game at… Continue reading

Brett Turcotte plans charity snowmobile event

“I chose to help support the cause so I can give back to the community that has supported me”

Chamber plans another “Of the Year” banquet

Nominations due Feb. 9 for banquet to be held Feb. 23 - look for details in the Times

PHOTO: Outstanding community service

Fern Ryley recognized for 25 years with BC Ambulance Service in Blue River and Clearwater

B.C. boy denied $19,000-per-month drug to ease ‘crippling pain’ for 3rd time

Sooke mom Jillian Lanthier says son Landen Alexa has been forgotten about by Premier John Horgan

Senior randomly stabbed in B.C. mall food court

Woman arrested after victim, 71, suffers serious injuries

B.C. Liberal hopefuls begin final leadership push

Five MLAs, one outsider pitch policies to party members

Vancouver Island marijuana producer bought by Aphria in $230M deal

Aphria’s annual production forecast increases to 230,000 kgs

UPDATED: ‘Young, innocent’ teen hit during Vancouver shootout dies

15-year-old Coquitlam boy was in a car driving by the scene

Ontario man charged with selling Canadian’s usernames and passwords

Ontario man ran site that peddled billions of pieces of personal data: RCMP

Video: B.C. documentary features Okanagan ice climbing

First documentary for Penticton filmmaker captures elusive Okanagan ice climbing

David Emerson quits lumber talks as legal action begins

Former federal minister served as B.C. softwood trade point man

Singer of the Cranberries dead at 46

Her publicist says Dolores O’Riordan died suddenly Monday in London. The cause of death wasn’t immediately available.

Most Read