Skip to content

Chamber of Commerce 2011 Of the Year nominations

The following are the 2011 "Of the Year" nominations received by Clearwater and District Chamber of Commerce


The following are the 2011 "Of the Year" nominations received by Clearwater and District Chamber of Commerce. The awards gala will be held Friday evening, Nov. 18, in the Wells Gray Inn.

HONORARY COMMUNITY ACKNOWLEDGEMENT - Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd Strickland - Clearwater and District Chamber of Commerce.

CITIZEN OF THE YEAR - Sponsored by District of Clearwater

A person who has provided significant contribution to the North Thompson Valley and has demonstrated outstanding leadership and/ or is a positive role model for other community members or organizations.  This person excels in an area of community service, arts and culture, regional development, career achievement, science and technology, sport and recreation or the environment.

NOMINATED: Orlynn Braaten, Nissa McGill, Bert Walker, Ken Kjenstad, Wes Bieber, Marilyn Collison, Marie Dee, and Reo and Sherry Joubert.

BEST CORPORATE CITIZEN - Sponsored by the Royal Bank

Awarded to a business or individual business that provides an excellent working environment for their employees, contributes significantly to community projects and social causes and is noted for their ethical and upstanding business practices.

NOMINATED: Safety Mart, Kurt Dodd Contracting, Home, Hardware, Wadlegger Logging and Construction, Pharmasave, and Interior Savings.

BUSINESS EXCELLENCE AWARD - Sponsored by Home Hardware

Recognizing overall business excellence and achievement in a for-profit business.  Business owner (and staff) consistently demonstrate a commitment to excellence and has demonstrated business growth and development practice and is a role model for excellence for other businesses.

NOMINATED: Royal Bank, Pharmasave, Yellowhead Daycare, Gateway Grill and Home Hardware.

BUSINESS PERSON OF THE YEAR - Sponsored by Joanne Ovenden Accounting

Presented to a local business owner (or owners) who demonstrates an innovative approach to business growth, retention or comeback.  Innovative endeavors may include success in breaking into new markets, development and / or utilization or innovative or creative business methods and has responded proactively to any adverse conditions.  The Business Person of the Year is willing to take bold action fearlessly.

NOMINATED: Bonnie Ruttan, Todd Phillips, Doug Borrow, Jackson Rempel, Jack Keough, Marilou Roy, and Jeff Lamond.


Presented to an employee or team of employees within a business who demonstrated a consistent commitment to providing customer service excellence that truly "wows" the customer and encourages and inspires the community to shop local.

NOMINATED: Rona, Chelsea Braaten, Philip Strickland, Lisa Nadeau, Aspen Auto, Kal Tire, Jim's Market, Home Hardware, and Wells Gray Inn.

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR - Awarded to a business (large, small or home-based) for outstanding effort and commitment in their first 18 months of business.  This award is intended to highlight and encourage awareness of new businesses establishing in our community.

NOMINATED: Jim's Food Market, Gateway Grill, The Grooming Shop (formerly The Pooch Parlor), and Gobsmacked - The Candy Store.

COMMUNITY SPIRIT  Sponsored by Wells Gray Inn

Awarded to a non-profit, community group or volunteer contingent (singular or group) for their remarkable and significant community contribution.  By way of action, this group has had a positive impact in our valley, makes our community a better place to live and gives us reason to be proud of our non-profit and volunteer groups.

NOMINATED: Wells Gray Community Forests, Hospital Auxiliary, Regatta Committee, Clearwater Ski Club, and Cindy Wilgosh.

YOUTH LEADERSHIP and INITIATIVE AWARD - Sponsored by Clear Water Dollar Emporium

Recognizing a young person between the ages of 12 to 24 living in the North Thompson Valley who has shown outstanding leadership or initiative on a project or campaign with positive social, business, educational or volunteer impact.

NOMINATED: Nicole Madden, Tori Barstow, and Jordan Akers.


About the Author: Staff Writer

Read more